The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J. R. R. Tolkien

lotrI read Tolkien’s classic Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit when I was in high school. These novels are about fantastical creatures on a journey to destroy an evil ring of power. They are very descriptive, with endless wars and battles, and a number of  pages-long poems and ballads of back-story. It took me several months to make it through the series, because I really had to concentrate to get through them. I’m totally aware that these are the most popular fantasy books in the history of ever, so that’s why I had to make the rite of passage to read them. While I found the reading experience a bit tedious at times, I am absolutely obsessed with the films, and adore the richly-imagined world and all the characters.

Leave a Reply

