Anastasia’s Secret by Susanne Dunlap

secretAnastasia’s Secret, published in March 2010, is an historical romance for teens written by Susanne Dunlap. The premise is that the Grand Duchess Anastasia Romanov, youngest daughter of the last Tsar of Russia, had a love affair with one of the guards, Sasha, who imprisoned her and her family. In Dunlap’s world, the reason that Anastasia was always so lively and playful, as history has come to know her, was because she was secretly in love.

I adored Dunlap’s idea. Anastasia and Sasha’s romance is tragic and haunting. I would’ve loved to have read far, far more of it! Sasha was totally sexy. But Dunlap did as realistic a job as she could, which meant that the couple’s encounters had to be brief, infrequent, and hidden to have stayed a secret. The historical accuracy of this novel is well-researched (I’m a tad of a Romanov enthusiast myself). I was hoping for– truly expecting– Dunlap to pen a fanciful, happy ending, but I give her credit for staying faithful to true historical events instead. Overall, a haunting romance. I would read more of Dunlap’s writing down the road, as I see she’s published several other similar titles. A great title for fans of teen historical romance, or anyone fascinated- as I am- with Anastasia Romanov.

Leave a Reply

